Bees & Grass- A natural Haven..!!!

Traveling the Rift Valley- amidst the beauty of Kenya’s finest- back to a place where it all begun..back to where nature is at its best- truest and purest form, i was overwhelmed with a sense of belonging. A place that made me feel safe- that expected nothing from me but gratitude. A place bound by an everlasting beauty- captivated by its serene form and tantalizing views.

It had something to do with how it felt to be out in the wild. For days now, my world had been humanly controlled. Full of technology and beeping devices. Full of schedules, schedules and even more schedules! And it was driving me crazy!!  I seemed to have forgotten what it was like to be in a world so simple, yet feel so at peace. I had forgotten what it was like to be in a world not controlled at the click of a button. A world not run on commands and dodgy politics. I had forgotten what it was like to walk amidst natures finest; to take time out for myself; to simply listen to the pleasant chords of music the world has for me.

And here i was in a place with an unexplainable connectedness. Its sights and sounds eerily comforting. It wasn’t an ordinary visit though. It was magical- it was my very being.

The earth was warm under me. The sun above scorching- yet somewhat comforting. A green monster seemed to have over populated the choppy waters. Waters who had broken their banks with the torrents of Kenyan rain. A wooden platform lined the shores. Whilst shaky with every step, this was truly magnifique so to speak!! It existed in its own rhythm- a feat built by man, yet controlled by the very nature of the changing waters.

Totally disconnected from the reality of daily life, lunching under the cool of the makuti roof, the beat of the soft music hummed in my mind. I could smell the grass.. I could see the bees.. I was breathing a dose of fresh African air.  Bliss!!

As if impressing me, taking me away from the beauty before me, a giraffe strolls lazily past me. I’m thinking-  ‘Yes- im lunching- but what are you doing here tall fellow?’ Unaware at my awestruck self, it gracefully rips the leaves of the acacia tree, probably trying to be my lunch date partner. Did you know that giraffes are mammals? That makes them one of our own- a secret i only just discovered as we lunched somewhat together.
Ditching its lunch date with me, it brought out one of its own. Just 3 metres away – Two giraffes!! Standing tall, undisturbed and totally into their own world. Unaware at their picture perfect pose- unaware that they held my full attention. Somewhat refuting the belief that man must control everything. Beauty!!!

Giraffe

Whilst inhaling such a breath taking sight- lunching in the wild..Dancing to the sounds of crickets and buzzing bumblebees..Dipping our feet in the icy waters.. Hopping to the Earth’s music- here i was happy. Actually that was an understatement. I was ecstatic. Fully rejuvenated- totally free and with a sense of belonging.

Find your safe haven and get disconnected. Take the time out to see the little pleasures that nature has in store. Make it your own secret. And then share your secret with the most deserving. For me, it is a place that never disappoints. That always offers me something new. That absorbs your secrets and buries them deep in the brown earth. That does not tell. That does not judge.

And as the day closed upon me- i did not want to be anything more. I was as happy as i could ever be. And maybe that is the greatest feeling of all. To feel complete. To be captivated in life’s little pleasures. To call a place your own. To connect with this place and dissolve into a reality that most people can only dream of.

Nilpa

 

“It is a commonplace of all religious thought, even the most primitive, that the man seeking visions and insight must go apart from his fellows and love for a time in the wilderness.”

Loren Eiseley

 

 

Until you find your safe haven,

x x x

2 thoughts on “Bees & Grass- A natural Haven..!!!

  1. this is great, i am happy how you are writting and sure someone great also must be reading it and soon you will be one level up.

    great work / writing

Leave a Reply

