Career High!

Thursday marked a new chapter in my life. Whilst the rest of the world went on with their daily shenanigans, this day opened new doors for me. It brought with it bouts of emotions, nostalgia and even glimpses of a solid future.

For as long as I can recall- I have always wanted to climb this career ladder albeit slowly. I had always wanted to devour the experiences piece by piece- enjoying the experiences and learning from the mistakes.

Thursday was a classic end to one season of my long story.

The college years for me had been a blur of playing around, being serious only when the time called for it, meeting a jolly good variety of the human species…and the list goes on.Studying

It brought about with it the memories of skipping class to attend social events.Skipping class again, to nurse all the after effects of the social events. The memories of assignments done just in the nick of time. Of being able to cook up a million different excuses for being late to lectures…

It brought about a bout of nostalgic memories – of the people who I knew when I started off. Of the people I met along the way. Of the crazy ones who made the journey so much more interesting, of the ones who helped me discover myself. And most importantly of the ones I lost on the way.

It made me realize how a couple of people would have loved to see this achievement. Of how they were no longer a part of this joyous achievement. Some by choice – and yet others by the harsh hands of this ultimate cycle of life and death.

And those are the people who I feel I owe it most to.  Despite the circumstances, those were the ones who saw me off on this long journey. Who held my hand from near and far – and walked right behind me. To these few- Im sure you will be proud now. The journey you saw me off on is now complete. Your part in my life as much as it will be never be talked about will always be etched somewhere.

So away from the emotions- Thursday was fantastic!! I saw the closest to me happier than ever! I saw a mother filled with confusion and tears of joy!! I saw the light at the end of the tunnel. Actually- I was out of that tunnel!!

The feeling was ecstatic. The words said it all.

“Congratulations. You are now an ACCA affiliate”

After a long weekend and loads of slack –  Im looking forward to a whole new chapter that awaits me.

Here’s to new beginnings and a sense of accomplishment.

Accomplishment!

x x x

2 thoughts on “Career High!

Leave a Reply

